About Fourteen Hills Press


Since its inception in 1994, Fourteen Hills: The SFSU Review contributes to a vibrant literary tradition on the West Coast centered in the San Francisco Bay Area. Its commitment to presenting a diversity of experimental and progressive work by emerging and cross-genre writers, as well as by award-winning and established authors, has earned it a reputation for literary excellence. Being independent means its aesthetic is dynamic and fluid, ever changing to meet the needs of the culture and the historical moment as the staff perceive them. As an international literary magazine, Fourteen Hills has developed a reading audience that goes beyond the San Francisco Bay Area to the international community.


Staffed exclusively by graduate students in the creative writing program at San Francisco State University with the oversight of faculty advisor Heather June Gibbons, Fourteen Hills publishes original poetry, fiction, literary nonfiction, and cross-genre work created by writers in the US and abroad. It also welcomes and prints representative contributions from visual artists.

The staff strive to publish the most compelling literature put out, not only by any literary journal staffed by graduate students, but also by any journal period.

Current Staff

Editors-in-Chief: Bradley Penner and
                                Danielle Truppi
Faculty Advisor: Heather June Gibbons
Managing Editor: Lara Coley
Fiction Editor: Margaret Spilman
Art Editor: Presley Wiseman
Assistant Fiction Editor: Michael Petitte
PR & Events Manager: Emily Pinkerton
Poetry Editor: Fisayo Adeyeye
Assistant Poetry Editor: Presley Wiseman


Fourteen Hills Press publishes two titles each year. They include: two volumes of Fourteen Hills: The SFSU Review, and the annual winner of the Michael Rubin Book Award. The Michael Rubin Book Award (MRBA) is a single-author first-book award that memorializes the much-celebrated SFSU lecturer Michael Rubin. The MRBA is selected by an independently solicited judge each year. Past judges have included: Terese Svoboda, John Skoyles, Holly MacArthur, Brian Henry, Carol Snow, Major Jackson, Jacob Appel, and others.

San Francisco State University's Creative Writing Program

The home of Fourteen Hills, SFSU's Creative Writing Program was established in 1955 as part of the English Department and founded in 1968 as The Creative Writing Department. They offer three degree programs: B.A. in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing, M.A. in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing; and M.F.A. in Creative Writing. The curriculum reflects commitment to a variety of styles, subjects, and approaches, recognizing the complexity and breadth of contemporary writing. Graduates of the Creative Writing Program, Graduate and Undergraduate (creative nonfiction, fiction, playwriting and poetry), are instructed in literary analysis and develop their craft to constructively critique their own work and that of others. Students are prepared to participate in the larger community of writers with innovative writing in all three genres. Interested in applying? Please visit the Creative Writing Program's homepage.



The SFSU Review is a journal committed to publishing contemporary literary art.

Current Issue

Back Issues








A contest open to students of San Francisco State University.


Current Winner

Previous Winners