top of page

Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award

Fourteen Hills is proud to announce the inaugural Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award. Guest judge is poet Chet Wiener. The winning poet will receive $500 and publication in the Spring 2014 issue of Fourteen Hills. There is no submission fee. Poems not chosen for the award will be considered for publication in Fourteen Hills.

Stacy Doris was an Associate Professor in San Francisco State University’s Creative Writing Department, where she taught for ten years. Her work as a translator and a poet is widely recognized, and her most recent posthumous collection, Fledge: A Phenomenology of Spirit, which poet Maxine Chernoff has referred to as “a miracle of attentiveness,” is available from Nightboat Books.

Her other books include Paramour (Krupskaya, 2000), The Cake Part, Knot (University of Georgia Press, 2006), Cheerleader’s Guide to the World: Council Book (Roof Books, 2006), Conference (Potes & Poets, 2001), Une Année à New York avec Chester (P.O.L., 2000), La vie de Chester Steven Wiener ecrite par sa femme (P.O.L., 1998), and Kildare (Segue Foundation, 1994).

She was also a translator, known for her work with contemporary French poetry. She co-edited two anthologies, Twenty One New (to North America) French Writers (Raddle Moon, 1997) and Violence of the White Page (with Emmanuel Hocquard, Tyuonyi, 1991).

Doris was always creating new worlds with her unexpected poetics. Following upon that spirit of creative invention and inventive creation; engaging wit and ingenious playfulness; discovery in construction; and radical appropriations based on classical forms, pastiche, and love: the Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award will be given for a poem with a truly inventive spirit.

Additional Requirements:

  • Submission deadline: January 1, 2014

  • Submissions only accepted via Submittable

  • No minimum length; maximum 10 pages

  • Maximum 1 poem per author

  • Students currently enrolled at San Francisco State University are inelligible

  • Any poetry submitted for the award will also be considered for publication in Fourteen Hills

bottom of page