top of page


Michael Rubin Book Award

The Michael Rubin Book Award is an annual award open to students and recent graduates of San Francisco State University. Alternating each year between poetry and fiction, manuscripts are gathered in an open competition and read by an independent guest judge. The winner must be an enrolled student or recent graduate of SFSU whose work shows exceptional accomplishment and promise. The winning manuscript is published and promoted by Fourteen Hills Press.

Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award

Stacy Doris was an Associate Professor in San Francisco State University’s Creative Writing Department, where she taught for ten years. Her work as a translator and a poet is widely recognized. Doris was always creating new worlds with her unexpected poetics. Following upon that spirit of creative invention and inventive creation, the Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award is given annualy for a long poem with a truly inventive spirit. The winning poet receives $500 and publication of their winning poem in the upcoming issue of Fourteen Hills.

Gina Berriault Award


Inaugurated by Peter Orner in conjunction with Fourteen Hills, the Gina Berriault Award honors one fiction writer annually whose work exemplifies, in the craft of storytelling and the commitment to the education and assistance of young writers, the qualities of the late fiction writer and San Francisco State Creative Writing department faculty member, Gina Berriault. The winning author is honored at a celebratory reading, and their work along and an accompanying interview are featured in the winter issue of Fourteen Hills.

bottom of page