top of page

Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award 

We will begin accepting submissions for the Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award beginning Nov. 15, 2022. The deadline for submissions is Jan. 15 2023.


The winning poet will receive $500 and publication in the 2023 issue of Fourteen Hills. There is no submission fee and poems not chosen for the award will be considered for publication in Fourteen Hills. Previous winners of the award have been Sylvia Chan, Sahar Muradi, Sylvia Tefler and Nada Gordon.


Stacy Doris was a poet, translator, and an Associate Professor in San Francisco State University's Department of Creative Writing, where she taught for ten years. Her poetry is widely recognized; Fledge: A Phenomenology of Spirit, published shortly after her death, is available from Nightboat Books. Poet Maxine Chernoff has referred to it as “a miracle of attentiveness.” She was also highly regarded for her writing in French and her contribution to interactions among contemporary French and American poetry and poets.

Doris created new worlds with her unexpected poetics. Following upon her spirit of creative invention, engaging wit and ingenious playfulness, discovery in construction, and radical appropriations based on classical forms, pastiche, etc., and love, the Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award is given to a poet with a truly inventive spirit. 

Additional Requirements:

  • Submission window:  Nov. 15, 2022 to January 15, 2023

  • Submissions only accepted via Submittable

  • Minimum 3 pages; maximum 10 pages

  • Maximum 1 poem per author

  • Submission must be previously unpublished material

  • Students currently enrolled at San Francisco State University are ineligible

  • Poems submitted for the award will also be considered for publication in Fourteen Hills

  • Submission file must be in .doc or .docx format (Microsoft Word or Open Office) 


bottom of page