top of page

The Michael Rubin Book Award

The Michael Rubin Book Award is an annual Work-in-Progress award open to students and recent graduates of San Francisco State University. Alternating each year between poetry and fiction, manuscripts are gathered in an open competition and read by an independent guest judge. The winner must be an enrolled student or recent graduate at SFSU whose work shows exceptional accomplishment and promise. Past winning manuscript were published as books by Fourteen Hills Press in a limited one-run printing. See here for information on the new work-in-progress iteration of the award.


Her Daughters cover.jpg

2022 MRBA: Her Daughters

Congratulations to the 2022 MRBA Winner! We are pleased to announce that TreVaughn Roach-Carter is the winner of the 2022 Michael Rubin Book Award for his expansive collection of linked short stories, Her Daughters. The stories in this book have been described as "life and resilience, distilled on the page" by award-winning novelist Carolina De Robertis.

Thank you to TreVaughn, judge Shruti Swamy, and all who submitted to us! We feel fortunate to have received many strong manuscripts. The future of the MRBA is changing in exciting ways: visit here for more details!

About the winner: TreVaughn Malik Roach-Carter is a Queer Black novelist and fiction editor of The Ana literary magazine born in Modesto, California. He holds a bachelor's degree in creative writing and education, and a master's degree in creative writing from San Francisco State University. His work has been featured in Ramblr Magazine, Tayo Magazine's special issue: SOFT, Transfer Magazine, BAD EGG Magazine, Borderless Magazine, The Ana, and  Stellium magazine. He is the recipient of the Leo Litwalk Award for Literature and a Browning Society Award, and is the author of the young adult novels The Marked Ones: Uprising and The Aziza Chronicles: Awakening.

Available for purchase through Small Press Distribution books!

bottom of page